main content

Former Minister-Presidents

For further information or to get in touch with former Minister-Presidents, please contact the Minister-President's Citizens' Services Centre.

Stanislaw Tillich

Porträt Stanislaw Tillich © Sächsische Staatskanzlei / Laurence Chaperon

Stanislaw Tillich was born in Neudörfel (Saxony) on 10 April 1959. He is Sorbian and Roman-Catholic. He and his wife Veronika Tillich have two adult children.

After completing his engineering studies in construction and transmission technology at the TU Dresden, Stanislaw Tillich began his professional career in 1984 as a designer at an electronics company; from 1987 to 1989 he worked at the Kamenz District Council for Trade & Public Assistance, becoming the deputy chairperson in May 1989, before starting up his own medium-sized business.

Stanislaw Tillich was part of the GDR's first freely elected »People's Chamber« from March to October 1990, and from 1991 to 1994 he was an observer in the European Parliament. He became a member of the European Parliament in 1994, and the deputy chair of the Budget Committee and general reporter for the European Union's budget in 1998. He has been a member of the Saxon State Parliament since October 2004.

From 27 October 1999 to 1 May 2002, Stanislaw Tillich was the Saxon State Minister for Federal and European Affairs and the Free State of Saxony's federal government representative; from 2 May 2002 to 10 November 2004, he was head of the Saxon State Chancellery. He was the Saxon State Minister for the Environment and Agriculture from 11 November 2004 to 27 September 2007, before taking on the role of Saxon Sate Minister of Finance. Stanislaw Tillich has been the Minister-President of the Free State of Saxony since 28 May 2008. He was first re-elected to the position on 29 September 2009, and was once again elected on 12 November 2014. From 1 November 2015 to 31 October 2016, Saxony chaired the German Federal Council, with the Minister-President acting as President of the »Länderkammer« (»Chamber of States«).

Stanislaw Tillich has been a member of the CDU since 1987. From 1992 to 1999, he was an executive board member of Europe's Christian Democrat parties. He has been the State Chair of the Saxon Union since 2008, and a member of the CDU's federal executive board since 2010.

Download Stanislaw Tillich's portrait photo

Foto von Dr. Georg Milbradt © Jörg Lange / Die Bildermanufaktur

Prof. Dr. Georg Milbradt, CDU

Georg Milbradt was born in Eslohe, in the Sauerland region, on 23 February 1945.

He was elected on 18 April 2002, and was successfully able to continue development and construction despite the 100-year flood in August 2002. Following the State Parliament elections in 2004, he became the head of government of a CDU/SPD coalition. He is known for his fundamentally solid budget policy (no new debt since 2006), and strong initiatives to boost the economy, e.g. through a successful settlement, education, science and cultural policy with the reopening of the Green Vault and completion of the Frauenkirche. He radically reorganised the public administration to make Saxony sustainable and future-proof despite the demographic change.

Positions in the state government:

November 1990 to February 2001 – Saxon State Minister of Finance

18 April 2002 – Elected Minister-President of the Free State of Saxony

27 May 2008 – Retired as Minister-President of the Free State of Saxony

Dr. Kurt Biedenkopf © Thomas Härtrich

Prof. Dr. Kurt Biedenkopf, CDU

Kurt Biedenkopf was born in Ludwigshafen (Rhine) on 28 January 1930.

He was elected on 27 October 1990. He and his party achieved an absolute majority in the now freely elected Saxon State Parliament in three state parliament elections (1990, 1994, 1999). These years were defined by a return to Saxon identity, a mood of awakening and new beginnings. The state which once again bears the title »Free State of Saxony« underwent successful restructuring and modernisation.

Positions in the state government:

From October 1990: Minister-President of the Free State of Saxony

18 April 2002 – Retired as Minister-President of the Free State of Saxony

Back to top